应用于4K超高清视频传输的光纤拉远解决方案

浏览:1470

随着市面上广播级影像机器的画面越来越趋于4K高清, 广播视讯等领域的专业视频内容供应商持续升级数字传输接口,以便支持更高分辨率的视频内容,并满足不断增长的数字视频带宽需要。传统的4K非压缩数字基带信号采用4路并行传输,每路工作速率最高为3Gb/s,这在实际应用中产生两个明显的问题:

  • 需要采用4个BNC连接器的面板,占用过多宝贵的设备空间;
  • 必须采用4根铜轴电缆线进行连接,占用了过多线缆资源,并且带来布线挑战。

为了应对这些问题,2015年,电影电视工程师学会(SMPTE)标准组织发布了应用于4K超高清画质UHD(2160p60)的非压缩数字基带信号传输的12G-SDI接口标准,工作速率达到12Gb/s,只需要一个BNC连接器和一条高速线缆就可以传输4K超高清画质,节省了线缆资源和宝贵的设备面板资源。

标准 发布时间 工作速率 视频格式
SMPTE 424M 2006 2.97Gbps 1080p60
SMPTE ST-2081 2015 6Gbps 2160p30
SMPTE ST-2082 2015 12Gbps 2160p60

四路3G-SDI采集方案变化为单路12G-SDI采集应用

12G-SDI铜缆传送痛点:传输距离受限

在设备端,12G-SDI高速基带信号经过预加重和均衡处理后,通过铜轴电缆传输距离可达70米。根据专业视讯设备商提供的75Ω铜轴电缆典型传输距离参考值,工作速率越高,铜轴电缆的传输距离也就越短。在一些特殊应用场合下,例如大型赛事或巨型演播厅环境下,铜缆传输距离受到物理极限制约,无法满足专业用户对12G-SDI信号基带远距离传输的需求,而此时可以借助光纤传输拉远方案来满足。

易飞扬12G-SDI光纤传输产品解决方案

为应对12G-SDI基带信号拉远特殊应用场景,易飞扬开发了12G-SDI光模块和12G-SDI光延长器,配合易飞扬自制的CWDM粗波分复用器,可以在1根单模光纤上实现高达16路12G-SDI高速信号的传输。在完备12G-SDI病态帧条件下,可以保证高达10km的传输距离;在12G-SDI Color bar条件下传输距离可以达20km。

不同于12G-SDI铜轴电缆的传输,12G-SDI光传输必须解决12G-SDI病态帧条件下的压力测试,这对传输系统的性能非常重要。12G-SDI病态帧测试是一种特殊的压力测试,其测试码型包含了大量低频能量。设计初衷是为了测试整个传输系统鲁棒特性,测试系统在传输信号最恶劣的条件下是否可以顺利传输12G-SDI基带信号。易飞扬采用专业的12G-SDI视讯测试仪PHABRIX,可输出和测试12G-SDI病态码,包括8个100% Bar码型。易飞扬的12G-SDI光模块和12G-SDI光延长器都可以完全通过这些码型的测试。

易飞扬的12G-SDI 光模块和12G-SDI光延长器符合SMPTE ST-297-2015、 ST 2081和ST 2082标准,完美向下兼容 6G-SDI、3G-SDI、HD-SDI和 SD-SDI的工作速率,同时满足苛刻的12G-SDI病态帧测试,配合易飞扬自制的粗波分复用器,可以为广播视讯行业中光纤资源紧缺的场景提供经济适用的4K超高清超长距离光纤拉远解决方案。

Video over Fiber Solution for 4K UHD Long Distance Transmission

Views: 1339

As the screens of broadcast-grade imaging machines on the market are becoming 4K or even 8K Ultra High-Definition (UHD), professional video content providers in the fields of broadcast video and other fields continue to upgrade digital transmission interfaces to support higher resolution and meet the growing digital video bandwidth required.

However, the traditional 4K uncompressed digital baseband signal uses 4 parallel transmissions, and the maximum data rate of each channel is only 3Gb/s, which has two obvious problems in practical applications: a panel with 4 BNC connectors is required, taking up too much valuable equipment space; 4 coax cables must be used for the connection, which takes up too much cable resources and poses cabling challenges.

In order to deal with these problems, in 2015, the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) released the 12G-SDI interface standard for uncompressed digital baseband signal transmission for 4K UHD UHD (2160p60), with data rate of 12Gb/s. It needs only one BNC connector and one high-speed coax cable to transmit the 4K UHD image, saving 75% cable resources and precious equipment panel resources.

The Pain Point of 12G-SDI Copper Transmission: Limited Transmission Distance

At the device end, the 12G-SDI high-speed baseband signal undergoes pre-emphasis and equalization processing, and the transmission distance through the coax cable can reach up to 70 meters. According to the typical transmission distance reference value of 75Ω coax cable provided by professional videoconferencing equipment vendors, the higher the operating speed, the shorter the transmission distance of coax cable. In some special applications, such as large-scale events or giant studios, the transmission distance of copper cables is restricted by physical limits, which cannot meet the needs of professional users for long-distance transmission of 12G-SDI signal baseband.

Gigalight's 12G-SDI Video over Fiber Solution

In order to cope with the special application scenarios of 12G-SDI baseband signals extended transmission, Gigalight has developed 12G-SDI optical modules and 12G-SDI optical extenders. With Gigalight's own passive CWDM Mux DeMux, the 12G-SDI video over fiber solution can realize up to 16 channels of 12G-SDI high-speed signal transmission over a single Single-Mode Fiber (SMF). Under the condition of complete 12G-SDI pathological pattern, the transmission distance is up to 10km; under the condition of 12G-SDI color bar, the transmission distance can reach 20km.

Unlike the 12G-SDI coax cable transmission, 12G-SDI optical transmission must solve the stress test under 12G-SDI pathological pattern conditions, which is very important for the performance of the video over fiber transmission system. The 12G-SDI pathological pattern test is a special stress test whose test pattern contains a lot of low-frequency energy. The original intention of the design is to test the robust characteristics of the entire transmission system and test whether the system can successfully transmit the 12G-SDI baseband signal under the worst conditions of the transmission signal. Gigalight adopts professional 12G-SDI video tester —PHABRIX, which can output and test 12G-SDI pathological patterns, including eight 100% bar patterns. Gigalight's 12G-SDI optical module and 12G-SDI optical extender can all pass the test of these patterns.

Gigalight's 12G-SDI optical module and 12G-SDI optical extender comply with SMPTE ST-297-2015, ST 2081 and ST 2082 standards, and are perfectly backward compatible with 6G-SDI, 3G-SDI, HD-SDI and SD-SDI, at the same time meet the demanding 12G-SDI pathological pattern test. Together with Gigalight's own passive CWDM Mux DeMux, the 12G-SDI optics can provide economical and suitable 4K UHD long-distance optical fiber extension for scenarios where the optical fiber resources are scarce in the broadcast video industry.

12G-SDI Optical Modules

Product Name Part Number Data Rate Wavelength Reach Pinout
12G-SDI SFP+ GHP-3112G-L2CD 12G 1310nm 10km/20km Non-MSA
GHP-3112G-L2CDM 12G 1310nm 10km/20km MSA
12G-SDI CWDM SFP+ GHPC-2712G-L1CDM 12G 1270nm 10km MSA
GHPC-2912G-L1CDM 12G 1290nm 10km MSA
GHPC-3112G-L1CDM 12G 1310nm 10km MSA
GHPC-3312G-L1CDM 12G 1330nm 10km MSA
GHPC-3512G-L1CDM 12G 1350nm 10km MSA
GHPC-3712G-L1CDM 12G 1370nm 10km MSA
GHPC-3912G-L1CDM 12G 1390nm 10km MSA
GHPC-4112G-L1CDM 12G 1410nm 10km MSA
GHPC-4312G-L1CDM 12G 1430nm 10km MSA
GHPC-4512G-L1CDM 12G 1450nm 10km MSA
GHPC-4712G-L1CDM 12G 1470nm 10km MSA
GHPC-4912G-L1CDM 12G 1490nm 10km MSA
GHPC-5112G-L1CDM 12G 1510nm 10km MSA
GHPC-5312G-L1CDM 12G 1530nm 10km MSA
GHPC-5512G-L1CDM 12G 1550nm 10km MSA
GHPC-5712G-L1CDM 12G 1570nm 10km MSA
12G-SDI SFP+ Tx GHT-3112G-L2CD 12G 1310nm 10km/20km Non-MSA
GHT-3112G-L2CDM 12G 1310nm 10km/20km MSA
12G-SDI SFP+ Rx GHR-12G-L2CD 12G N/A 10km/20km Non-MSA
GHR-12G-L2CDM 12G N/A 10km/20km MSA
12G-SDI SFP+ Dual Tx GTT-3112G-L2CD 2x12G 1310nm 10km/20km Non-MSA
12G-SDI SFP+ Dual Rx GRR-12G-L2CD 2x12G N/A 10km/20km Non-MSA

12G-SDI Optical Extenders

Product Name Part Number Data Rate BNC Ports SFP+ Ports Power Supply
12G-SDI Optical Extender G-SDI-E-2*12G-TR 2x12G 2-in & 2-out 2 5-12V DC