应用于云数据中心的光互连解决方案

浏览:2845

云数据中心是云计算的基础设施。云计算业务持续渗透,拉动云计算超大数据中心的建设。云IT基础设施主要由交换机、服务器以及互连这一切的光缆和光模块(或AOC)组成。云数据中心的大型化将极大提升光模块的使用量,同时对光模块的传输距离有了更高的要求,这将增加单模光模块的使用比例。

云数据中心流量的爆发式增长,驱动了光模块工作速率不断升级,并呈加速态势。10G速率端口迭代到40G速率端口经历了5年,40G速率端口升级到100G速率端口经历了4年,而100G速率端口到400G速率端口或仅需3年时间。未来数据中心所有的出口数据都需经过内部的海量运算(尤其是AI等应用的崛起,内部流量和出口流量更加惊人)。如今,数据中心普遍采用扁平化的架构使得100G光模块市场将持续高速的增长。

根据Synergy第三方报告显示,截至2016年,全球超大规模数据中心总数突破300个,2017年则超过390个,目前至少有69个超大规模数据中心处于规划或建设阶段,预测到2019年底之前,全球超大规模数据中心数量将超过500个,届时83%的公有云服务器和86%的公有云负载都将承载在超级数据中心,超级数据中心服务器部署量占比将从21%上升到47%,处理能力占比从39%提升到68%,流量占比从34%提升到53%。

数据中心传统三层架构和扁平化两层架构的对比

数据中心传统三层架构和扁平化两层架构的对比

光模块和AOC在数据中心光互连应用实例介绍

国内某云数据中心网络架构分为超核心区交换机(Spine Core), 模组核心区域交换机(Edge Core,或称Leaf Switch)和接入交换区域交换机(TOR)。

  • 从服务器网卡NIC到接入交换区域交换机,采用10G SFP+ AOC有源光缆互连。
  • 从接入交换区域交换机到模组核心区域交换机,采用40GE QSFP+ SR4光模块和MPO光纤跳线互连。
  • 从模组核心交换机到超核心区交换机,采用100G QSFP28 CWDM4光模块和LC双纤光纤跳线互连。

国内某云数据中心光模块应用实例

国内某云数据中心光模块应用实例

云数据中心端口带宽的升级趋势 (从10G到25G,再到100G)

部署年代 2008–2014 2013–2019 2017–2021 2019–
园区,超大数据中心 40G-LR4 40G-LR4
100G-CWDM4
100G-CWDM4 400G-FR4
机房内部 40G-eSR4
4x10G-SR
40G-eSR4 100G-SR4 400G-DR4
机架内部 CAT6 10G AOC 25G AOC 100G AOC
服务器网卡速率 1G 10G 25G 100G

云数据中心光模块需求的特点

由于云数据中心流量增速、网络架构、可靠性要求和机房环境与电信级网络的差异,云数据中心对光模块的需求体现以下特点:迭代周期短、速率要求高、高密度、低功耗。

  • 迭代周期短。数据中心流量高速增长,驱动光模块不断升级,并呈加速态势,包括光模块在内的数据中心硬件设备跌代周期在3年左右,而电信级光模块的迭代周期一般在6至7年以上。
  • 速率要求高。由于数据中心流量爆发性增长,光模块的技术迭代赶不上需求,基本上最尖端的技术都应用到了数据中心。对于更高速光模块,数据中心需求一直都在,关键在于技术是否成熟。
  • 高密度。高密度的核心是为了提高交换机和服务器单板传输容量,本质上还是为了满足流量高速增长的需求;同时,密度越大,意味着可以部署更少的交换机,以节约机房资源。
  • 低功耗。数据中心耗电量大,低功耗一方面是为了节约能耗,另外一方面是为了应对散热问题,因为数据中心交换机背板插满了光模块,若散热问题无法妥善解决,将会影响到光模块的性能和密度的提高。
  • 针对几大需求,易飞扬提供了非常全面的云数据中心光模块产品解决方案,其速率覆盖10G至400G,且距离覆盖100m至40km。

Optical Interconnect Solution for Cloud Data Center

Views: 15803

The cloud data centers are the infrastructure of cloud computing networks. The continuous penetration of cloud computing business has stimulated the construction of super data centers. The cloud infrastructure is mainly composed of switches and servers. Fiber optic cables and optical transceivers, or active optical cables and direct attach cables are used for the connection. The large scale of cloud data centers will greatly increase the usage of optical transceivers and the requirements to transmission distance, which will increase the usage ratio of single mode optical transceivers.

In the cloud data centers, the explosive growth of the traffic is driving the data rate of optical transceivers to escalate and accelerate. It has taken 5 years from 10G to 40G, then 4 years from 40G to 100G, and may likely take only 3 years from 100G to 400G. All the export data in the future data centers need to go through the internal mass operation (especially the rising internal and export flow of AI, VR/AR, UHD video, and so on). The flow of the east-west direction in the data center is turbulent, and the flat data center architecture makes the 100G optical transceiver market continue to grow at a high speed.

According to the report of third party institution, the number of global super large data centers will be over 500 by the end of 2019. Then 83% of the public cloud servers and 86% of the public cloud load will be loaded in the super data centers, the ratio of deployment of super data center servers will rise from 21% to 47%, the ratio of processing capacity will be increased from 39% to 68%, and the ratio of traffic will be increased from 34% to 53%.

The Spine-Leaf and Traditional 3-Tier Data Center Architectures

The direction of the main data flow of traditional 3-tier data center is from top to bottom or from south to north, while the direction of the main data flow of flat spine-leaf data center is from east to west.

Here is a data center optical interconnect application case of optical transceivers and AOC. The network architecture of a Cloud Data Center is pided into Spine Core, Edge Core, and ToR (Top of Rack). The 10G SFP+ AOC is used for the interconnection between the ToR access switches and the server NICs. The 40G QSFP+ SR4 optical transceivers and MTP/MPO cables are used for the interconnection between the ToR access switches and the Edge Core switches. The 100G QSFP28 CWDM4 optical transceivers and duplex LC cables are used for the interconnection between the Edge Core switches and the Spine Core switches.

Data center interconnect case of optical transceivers and AOC

The trend of the port bandwidth upgrades for Cloud Data Centers is from 10G to 25G, and then from 25G to 100G.

Upgrade Path 2008–2014 2013–2019 2017–2021 2019~
Data Center Campus 40G-LR4 40G-LR4
100G-CWDM4
100G-CWDM4 400G-FR4
Intra-Building 40G-eSR4
4x10G-SR
40G-eSR4 100G-SR4 400G-DR4
Intra-Rack CAT6 10G AOC 25G AOC 100G AOC
Sever Data Rate 1G 10G 25G 100G

According to the difference in the rate of increase in flow, network architecture, reliability requirements and the environment of the machine room compared to telecommunication networks, the demand for optical transceivers of cloud data centers has the following characteristics: shorter iteration period, higher speed, higher density, lower power consumption and use by mass.

  • Shorter iteration period. The rapid growth of data center traffic is driving the upgrading of optical transceivers in acceleration. The iteration period of data center hardware devices including optical transceivers is about 3 years, while the iterative period of telecommunication optical transceivers is usually over 6-7 years.
  • Higher speed. Because of the explosive growth of data center traffic, the technology iteration of optical transceivers can not catch up with the demand, and almost all the most advanced technologies are applied to data centers. For higher speed optical transceivers, there is always a demand for data centers, and the key question is whether the technology is mature or not.
  • Higher density. The high density core is to improve the transmission capacity of the switches and the single boards of the servers, in essence, to meet the demand of high speed increasing flow. At the same time, the higher the density is, the less switches are needed be deployed, and the resources of the machine room can be saved.
  • Lower power consumption. The power consumption of the data center is very large. Lower power consumption is to save energy and ensure better heat dissipation. Because there are full of optical transceivers on the backboards of the data centers, if the heat dissipation problem can not be properly solved, the performance and density of the optical transceivers will be affected.

Gigalight's cloud data center solution includes optical transceivers and active optical cables for 10G/25G/40G/100G/200G/400G networks.

Optical Transceivers Solution Applications Maximum Connection Distance
400G QSFP-DD SR8 400GE, 2x200GE 100m
200G QSFP-DD SR8 2x100GE 100m
200G QSFP-DD PSM8 2x100GE 2km-10km
200G QSFP56 SR4 200GE 100m
100G QSFP28 SR4 100GE, OTU4, 128GFC/4x32GFC 100m-300m
100G QSFP28 PSM4 100GE 2km-10km
100G QSFP28 CWDM4 100GE 2km-10km
100G QSFP28 CLR4 100GE 2km-10km
100G QSFP28 4WDM-10 100GE 10km
100G QSFP28 LR4 100GE, OTU4 10km-20km
100G QSFP28 4WDM-40 100GE 30km-40km
100G QSFP28 ER4 Lite 100GE, OTU4 30km-40km
50G SFP56 SR 50GE 100m
40G QSFP+ SR4 40GE, OTU3 400m
40G QSFP+ PSM4 40GE, OTU3 2km-10km
40G QSFP+ LR4 40GE, OTU3 2km-10km
40G QSFP+ ER4 40GE, OTU3 40km
Active Optical Cables Solution Applications Maximum Connection Distance
400G QSFP-DD AOC 400GE, 2x200GE 100m
200G QSFP-DD/QSFP56 AOC 2x100GE, 200GE 100m
100G QSFP28 AOC 100GE, 128GFC/4x32GFC 100m-300m
50G SFP56 AOC 50GE 100m
40G/56G QSFP AOC 40GE, 4x16GFC, 2x25GE, 2x32GFC 150m-300m
25G SFP28 AOC 25GE, 32GFC 100m-300m
10G SFP+ AOC 10GE 300m