新技術的出現使數據中心成為車載光互連繫統的領導者
日期: 2019-10-30 作者: Gigalight 3438 標籤: 數據中心 , 光學互連 , COBO , 聯合包裝 , 100G PAM4 , 400G

由於開放的結構空間,板載光互連的前景廣闊。 技術的迭代使微型低功耗可插拔光學器件最終被車載光學聯盟(COBO)或共封裝光學器件(CPO)所取代。 未來,車載光互連將主導數據中心的主要市場。

100G PAM4的技術難題阻礙了400G可插拔光學器件的發展

50G PAM4可以被廣泛應用,但當前不能用於100G PAM4(帶有DSP)。 預計將設計出一個完美的系統來使100G PAM4廣泛應用,但是,由於100G PAM4技術對隨機噪聲和通道的特定要求,迫使其選擇了受信任且受限的應用領域。

關於100G PAM4,目前只有兩種應用:可以用於與Silicon Photonics光學器件的短距離互連; 通過優化的EML激光器用於中長距離互連(2-10km)。

數據中心必須從200G躍升至400G。 當前,只有基於Silicon Photonics技術的可插拔optis才能實現400G數據中心的內部互連。 我們都希望基於成熟的EML技術的400G可插拔光學器件能夠迅速替代100G光學器件的應用。 但是,400G矽光子學可插拔光學器件(例如400G DR4模塊)的技術難度非常大。 這裡提到的400G技術難題包括隨機噪聲和信號完整性,以及數據中心的容器模型帶來的熱量和EMC。 下一代400G數據中心必須考慮更複雜的技術干擾。 這些技術因素既存在於宏觀中,也存在於微觀中。

對於長距離數據中心互連,我們懷疑100G PAM4應該可行,並且至少100G Single Lambda 10km應該成功。 但是,尚不清楚該應用是否在商業上方便且具有成本效益。

400G數據中心的最佳選擇:板載光學互連

新技術不再適用於流行的主流體系結構和主要產品,因為任何新技術都有自己的複制空間。 可以預見,在應用新技術時,數據中心和5G將朝著完全不同的空間發展。

對於新技術,最好的情況是將100G PAM4與Silicon Photonics結合起來,以實現基於板載光學互連的數據中心。 也許,從400G開始,數據中心可以直接進入車載時代。 這沒有錯。 畢竟,從奇異性到開放空間,它在變得越來越小之後必須與物體相反。 數據中心的未來就在這裡。

光模塊製造商,有必要集成到數據中心的系統設計中,告別即插即用時代,聽聽新技術的呼喚。 對於在非線性光學領域具有足夠投資和成熟技能的模塊化公司而言,機載數據中心是設計能力的典範。

成熟的數據中心仍然會遇到 200G 申請了很長時間。 依靠400G的各種產品和體系結構設計,目前缺乏靈感和指導,因此將花費很長時間並且花費巨大。

顯然,行業的局限性和數據中心的短歷史仍然不足以開發和應用新技術。 在經歷了光學設備的顛覆之後,根據當前的邏輯,數據中心應該讓位給5G,以繼續引領光通信的發展。 實際上,只要數據中心繼續進行200G佈局,數據中心對光通信的發展和貢獻就不會丟失給5G。 畢竟,目前的最大比率 5G回傳 僅200G。

結論

數據中心需要像其他任何行業一樣冷靜下來並完善學習曲線,然後計劃新的飛躍。 可插拔光學器件在本地應用中得到使用,因為板載光學器件將成為歷史,但這不會妨礙我們對可插拔連續開發和市場應用的信心。 有能力的公司必須握有兩把劍:可插拔的和車載的。

The Emergence of New Technologies Has Led Data Centers to On-Board Optical Interconnects
Date: 2019-10-30 Author: Gigalight 1241

Due to the open structural space, the prospect of on-board optical interconnection is bright. The iteration of technology allows miniaturized and low-power pluggable optics to eventually be replaced by Consortium for On-Board Optics (COBO) or Co-Package Optics (CPO). In the future, on-board optical interconnects will dominate the major markets in the data center.

The Technical Difficulties of 100G PAM4 Hinders the Development of 400G Pluggable Optics

The 50G PAM4 can be widely applied, but not the 100G PAM4 (with DSP) currently. It is expected that a perfect system will be designed to make the 100G PAM4 widely applied, however, the specific requirements of the 100G PAM4 technology for random noise and channel have forced it to choose a trusted and limited application area.

About 100G PAM4, there are only two applications that can be guessed at present: to be used for short-distance interconnections with Silicon Photonics optics; to be used for medium-long distance interconnections (2-10km) with optimized EML lasers.

The data center must leap from 200G to 400G. Currently, only pluggable optis based on Silicon Photonics technology can realize the internal interconnection of 400G data center. We all hope that the 400G pluggable optics based on mature EML technology can quickly replace the application of 100G optics. However, the technical difficulties of 400G Silicon Photonics pluggable optics (such as 400G DR4 modules) are very huge. The 400G technical difficulties mentioned here include random noise and signal integrity, as well as heat and EMC brought by the container model of the data center. The next generation of 400G data centers have to consider more complex technical interference. These technical factors exist both in the macro and in the micro.

For long-distance data center interconnections, we suspect that 100G PAM4 should be feasible, and at least 100G Single Lambda 10km should be successful. However, it is still unclear whether this application is commercially convenient and cost-effective.

The Best Choice for 400G Data Center: On-Board Optical Interconnects

New technologies are no longer applicable to the popular mainstream architecture and major products, because any new technology has its own room for reproduction. It is foreseeable that the data center and 5G will move towards a completely different space in the application of new technologies.

For the new technology, the best case will be 100G PAM4 and Silicon Photonics combine to achieve a data center based on on-board optical interconnect. Perhaps, starting with the 400G, the data center can directly enter the on-board era. There is nothing wrong with this. After all, after getting smaller and smaller, it must be the opposite of the object, from the singularity to the open space. The future of the data center is here.

For optical module manufacturers, it is necessary to integrate into the systematic design of the data center, bid farewell to the era of plug and play and listen to the call of new technology. For modular companies with sufficient investment and proven skills in the field of nonlinear optics, on-board data centers are an excellent example of design capabilities.

Mature data centers will still experience 200G applications for a long time. Relying on the various product and architecture designs of the 400G, there is currently a lack of inspiration and guidance, so it will take a long time and a huge cost.

Obviously, the industry's limitations and short history of data centers still lack of precipitation for the development and application of new technologies. After experiencing the subversion of optical devices, according to the current logic, the data center should give way to 5G to continue to lead the development of optical communication. In fact, as long as the data center continues 200G layout, the development and contribution of the data center to optical communication will not be lost to 5G. After all, the current maximum rate of 5G backhaul is only 200G.

Conclusion

The data center needs to calm down and complete the learning curve like any other industry, and then plan a new leap forward. Pluggable optics are used in local applications because on-board optics will go into history, but this will not hinder our confidence in pluggable continuous development and market applications. Companies with the ability to do so must hold two swords: pluggable and on-board.